|Welcome to the Mary Hill House at Antietam, located in historic Sharpsburg Maryland, founded in 1763, and site of the bloodiest one-day battle in the history of America’s Civil War. A stay in our charming little village is like a step back in time, where the landscape has changed little since the war, many residents still fly their flags all year, and townspeople gather for what is billed as the longest running Memorial Day parade in these United States. This quaint and charming log house has been lovingly restored to expose many of its original features and early craftsmanship, including some interior hand-hewn log walls with pegs, beautiful heart pine wide plank floors, and a large stone fireplace, while adding modern amenities essential for a comfortable stay at the historic Mary Hill House.|
Find Sharpsburg Vacation Rentals on FlipKey
About the Owners |
General Information |
What to Do
Named after the first documented owner of this 1780’s, two-story log structure, the Mary Hill House is one of the oldest homes in Sharpsburg. Its original design, typical of German architectural influence, centered four main rooms around a central stone chimney. During the 1800’s, the chimney was removed (or destroyed), a summer kitchen was added, and an exterior stone chimney and new hearth built. Evidence of the original center chimney can be found in the cellar, where small alcoves in its base were built to accommodate fermenting food products such as sauerkraut and pickled goods. Typical of many of the town’s surviving log structures, the house was covered with wooden clapboard siding. Eventually, it was layered with a rough-cast stucco coating.
house was used as a temporary field hospital following
the Civil War. In
records maintained with the National Park Service, Antietam National
Battlefield library, it is documented that two soldiers occupying
the house were killed by an explosion.
“Mrs. Emory Smith, who lived in the frame house on the southwest corner of the alley on Main Street, opposite the old Lutheran graveyard, said when they came to their home after the battle two Confederate soldiers lay in their kitchen where they were killed by an exploding shell that came through the building. The shell killed one at the well near by while in the act of drawing a bucket of water. One of the men in the kitchen was holding in one of his hands a bunch of onions and was literally torn to pieces. There have been Union soldiers who visited the battlefield since the battle who remembered seeing the sight just mentioned.”
Artifacts and evidence of the Civil War’s reach at this particular house are still being discovered, including what is likely a large blood stain in the center of the main keeping room, uncovered only after carpet and plywood and paint were stripped from the floor. Scores of glass and pottery shards and fragments were found underneath the summer kitchen which also revealed a hearth the width of the room.
The Mary Hill
House at Antietam (circa 1780) | 211 East Main Street | Sharpsburg,
MD 21782 | 301-432-7984
Copyright 2008-12 | All rights reserved | Professional Photographs Courtesy of Kelly Hahn Photography
Floral Design Courtesy of Denny Warrenfeltz of Roostervane Gardens